Albert Ballin Awards and Forum 2018

To mark the centenary of Albert Ballin’s death on November 9, 2018, Hapag-Lloyd established the Albert Ballin Award for Global Action and two Albert Ballin Awards for Globalization Research which will be awarded at regular four-year intervals.

The Albert Ballin Award for Global Action 2018 was given to the non-governmental organization Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF) for its worldwide humanitarian efforts for people needing medical relief.  

The Albert Ballin Awards for Globalization Research 2018 were granted to the up-and-coming young academics Dr. Johanna Beamish and Dr. Felix Hadwiger for their respective works titled „Im Transit auf dem Ozean: Schiffszeitungen als Dokumente globaler Verbindungen im 19. Jahrhundert“ and „Contracting International Employee Participation: Global Framework Agreements“. Both these works, written as doctoral theses, were deemed excellent by the high-profile expert panel.  

The awards were solemnly presented at a gala reception in Hamburg City Hall on November 6, 2018, in front of a large audience. On behalf of Médecins Sans Frontières, the President of its German section, Volker Westerbarkey, accepted the award.

Also to mark the centenary of Albert Ballin’s death, Hapag-Lloyd organized the first Albert Ballin Forum on November 6 and 7, 2018. It was held in the Museum für Hamburgische Geschichte.

Experts from a number of disciplines held lectures on Albert Ballin’s work within the context of his time as well as on historic, current and future developments in several fields of globalization. They inspired vivid discussions on the presented theories with the audience actively participating. For more information on the program and lecturers, please consult the program brochure below (PDF, in German language only).  

The forum was organized by Hapag-Lloyd AG in cooperation with the Museum für Hamburgische Geschichte and the Franz Vranitzky Chair for European Studies at the University of Vienna.

Front row (from left to right): Michael Behrendt (Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Hapag-Lloyd AG), Dr. Peter Tschentscher (First Mayor of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg), Dr. Johanna Beamish (Awardee), Dr. Felix Hadwiger (Awardee), Dr. Volker Westerbarkey (President of the German Section of Médecins Sans Frontières); back row (from left to right): Ilija Trojanow (Writer, laudator), Prof. Dr. Rainer Gries (President of the Albert Ballin Award expert panel, laudator), Rolf Habben Jansen (Chairman of the Executive Board of Hapag-Lloyd AG)

Albert Ballin Forum programm brochure 2018

Available only in German language.

423.8 KB

Download PDF

Back to Top